Provincial Nominee Program








The government of Canada along with certain provinces and territories have come to an agreement that gives provinces the power to choose individuals that intend on becoming permanent residents in their respective areas. It is for this reason why a potential applicant is first "nominated" by a province or territory before anything else occurs, hence the name of the category; Provincial Nominee Program. However, each province and territory encompasses their own set of procedures and guidelines and programs which immigrants would have to appropriately fall into. Once an individual has been successfully nominated by a province, the applicant receives a certificate of provincial nomination which is sent directly to the visa office by the nominating province or territory. From then on, the application process for permanent residency begins. Note that the advantage of these programs is that there are no point systems to abide by.

The provinces that have PNP's include:

  • Alberta
  • Manitoba
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Yukon
  • British Columbia
  • New Brunswick
  • Nova Scotia
  • Saskatchewan